How Old Do You Have to Be to Get a Tattoo in Texas?

how old do you have to be to get a tattoo in texas

How old do you have to be to get a tattoo in Texas?

Well, if you’re thinking about getting a tattoo but you’re unsure of the legal age limit in the Lone Star State, read on.

The minimum legal tattoo age in Texas is 18 years old, according to state law. Here are the details:

(A) A tattoo artist shall not tattoo (1) someone who under the age of 18 with the exception as defined in (a-1), (2) someone in which the artist assumes to be under the influence. Related to the first point, a tattooist may perform tattooing on a minor who hasn’t turned 18 if:

  • The tattoo is used as a cover-up for another tattoo that (a) has offensive or vulgar symbols / words on it, (b) use markings, symbols, or words associated with gangs (c) has images, symbols, or names that represent drugs, (d) has graphics that the person want to conceal with the approval of the parent or legal guardian.
  • The person has received permission from their parent or legal guardian to create a tattoo cover-up.
texas tattoo laws


(B) The consent specified in the subsection (a-1) shall be effective in the event that the minor’s parent or guardian (1) shows up during the tattoo procedure, (2) provides an affidavit with a statement confirming he or he is the actual parent or guardian of the young person (3) discloses the minor’s identity to the artist, and (4) discloses their own identity as legitimate parent or legal guardian.

READ ALSO:  Tattoo Shop Near Me? Let's Find The Nearest Tattoo Parlor Around You.

(C) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor if they try to disguise themselves as someone older or hands out a document specifying that they are 18 years or older to a person affiliated with a tattoo parlor. The person who commits the violation is punishable with a class B demeanor.

Getting a tattoo when you already meet the age requirement set by law is way more convenient than getting it when you’re underage.

When you’re of legal age, there’s no need to worry about violating any laws.

The rules regarding body modifications are enacted to protect young people from making poor decisions due to their own lack of judgment.

That’s not to say that tattoos are inherently bad, but there could be consequences they can deal with in the future for getting them early in their lives.

Many states don’t totally erase the opportunity for a minor to get a tattoo.

Still, there are things they need to fulfill before they can go ahead with the procedure.

Many artists take a stance on the issue by refusing service to minors even with parental permission. They do it because it may have negative effects on the child later.

READ ALSO:  How to Find the Right Tattoo Artist for Your First Tattoo?

Texas Tattoo Laws 2021 FAQs

Can you get a tattoo at 17 with parental consent in Texas?

It’s up to the parent to decide if a child can get a tattoo or not.

Can you get a tattoo at 17 with parental consent in Texas

Since a person at this age is considered a minor, they would need the parent’s permission for it to take place.

Proof of consent can be validated with a written notarized form that includes details like the minor’s name, contact number, address, and information about the minor’s parent or legal guardian.

What States can you get a tattoo at 16?

Florida, Louisiana, and Kansas are some of them.

Many states that permit tattooing at this age often demand the parent to be present while the procedure is undertaken.

They also need to sign a notarized written consent before it commences.

Can you get a tattoo in Texas at 14?

No, but there are circumstances under which it can happen.

For instance, tattooing can be performed on a minor if used to conceal another tattoo with offensive imagery or language.

Any tattoo that has the tendency to be perceived negatively may be subjected to this procedure.

Can a 14 year old get tattoos?

tattoo age in texas

From a legal standpoint, a 14-year old can get a tattoo.

READ ALSO:  What Tattoo Should I Get? 6 Things to Think About as Beginner.

However, the restriction would only be lifted in many states if the minor’s parent or guardian steps in and gives the child their consent.

What about piercing, can a 13 year old get a nose piercing?

Even if a state makes it possible for a 13-year old to get a piercing, they can’t do it alone.

There has to be a parent’s involvement in giving consent and witnessing the piercing process.

What age can you get a tattoo with parental consent?

Those aged 16 and 17 can safely get tattoos with parental permission.

At that age, it could be difficult because not only will the state likely impose strict regulations, but artists will likely be wary of tattooing children who are too young to have permanent markings placed on their skin.

Tattoo Age in Texas Conclusion

Everyone in the field of tattoos should adhere to the rules in place to provide or receive tattoos.

Artists have to implement safety protocols, and clients should be of legal age to get these body decorations.

How old do you have to be to get a tattoo in Texas?

Technically, one can get it under 18, but there are some requirements to fulfill, so the artist can do it without breaking the law.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 × two =

Scroll to Top